Sparrow Snacks

Large birds of prey are a common sight, it’s most often buzzards. The hedges are their lavishly stocked larders. From at least 100 yards away you can hear the squeaks and whistles of the bird metropolis. As I approach, a patch falls silent, I picture the little side turned faces, bright eyes watching me, then, as they see my back, they pick up their conversations and the ruckus continues. A mexican wave of silence follows me along the road.

It’s subzero now. I love walking the fields to come home with clean boots.

 Sweet chestnut groves are planted in strict formation. The trees glide into alignment repeatedly as we drive by. They are uniform, fine boned, geometric, resembling giant heads of cow’s parsley. Beneath each tree is a squarish russet rug of last years leaves.
Don't let me do all the talking.

